Visual Studio: F5 won’t start a build

Something happened today and I noticed when I press the F5 key my Visual Studio 2008 won’t start building the solution. Instead it opened the File open dialogue. Weird!

Googl-ed it, but didn’t find anything right away. Then it occurred to me! It really had to be that weird.

I am using a Microsoft Natural Keyboard. I love the keyboard by the way. But it has a so-called “feature” – F-Lock key. If you press this key then all the Function keys are remapped to general windows features such as File open dialogue. I pressed the F-Lock again and voila, Visual Studio build got mapped to F5 hey again.

Leave a Reply

